Arctic Monkeys Announce Seventh Studio Album ‘The Car’

Arctic Monkeys Announce Seventh Studio Album ‘The Car’

Arctic Monkeys have announced that their new album, The Car, will arrive on October 21.

Alex Turner wrote the album, which is a follow-up to the band’s 2018 record Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino.

The 10-track album includes the recently premiered track, “I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I am,” and a song titled “There’d Better Be a Mirrorball.”

In a recent interview with Big Issue, Turner revealed that the album was recorded with regular collaborator and producer James Ford in rural Suffolk during Summer 2021, with the band heading to the converted monastery Butley Priory.

“There’s a bunch of Led Zeppelin and Stones records where they were in this house in the country and then they went and sorted it all out and overdubbed it elsewhere,” he said.

Turner added that “on this record, sci-fi is off the table. We are back to earth,” comparing it to its predecessor. “I think we’ve got closer to a better version of a more dynamic overall sound with this record,” he continued.

“The strings on this record come in and out of focus and that was a deliberate move and hopefully everything has its own space. There’s time the band comes to the front and then the strings come to the front.”

The Car tracklist:

“There’d Better Be A Mirrorball””I Ain’t Quite Where I Think I Am””Sculptures Of Anything Goes””Jet Skis On The Moat””Body Paint””The Car””Big Ideas””Hello You””Mr Schwartz””Perfect Sense”

(Photo: Zackery Michael)

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 All Rights Reserved